best friendliest breed of rabbit to buy?

Home Community Rabbits best friendliest breed of rabbit to buy?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Lisa 13 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Karen

You will only get out of a rabbit for friendliness wqhat you put into it. I have had over 10 years experience with breeding abd rescuing rabbits formally and now (due to allergies) I can only manage to have one pet rabbit. But I have been invovled in rabbit and cavy rasing, showing, etc since I was a child and in 4-H then for another eight years in an adult rabbit club. I have a total of over 20 years in the rabbit and cavy world. The best way to have a sweet pet that loves to be with you is to make it a house pet. Rabbits in the back yards are often socially neglected. The vast majority of rescues with temperament issues I took in were outdoor rabbits with over all very little contact as compared to the ones that came from homes where they were house pets. Many of the medium to larger breeds of rabbits bred for commercial use are a bit more laid back. But again, if not handled enough or if they are from parents with questionable temperaments, then they can be unfriendly. The Angora breeds are bred for calmness over all. Why? Because of the handling and constant grooming they require (a good brushing a day and then plucking down of the wool as it grows out), a fiesty Angora is tough. However, the Jersey Woolies and American Fuzzy Lops tend to be fiestier than the English, French, Satin and Giant Angoras. But again, with the general laid back nature of the breeds comes MAJOR grooming responsibilities and other health concerns caused by the wool that most people getting the breeds as pets because they are cute are unable to manage (I concentrated as an adult on Eng Angoras and Fuzzy Lops.) Your best bet is to keep the rabbit indoors as a pet and take it outside to a secure pen to socialize with you. Ther