Breeding Question

Home Community People & Their Pets Breeding Question

This topic contains 9 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  lauren 17 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Lauren

I’d like peoples advice on ages before breeding. I’ve been breeding for a few years, and I’ve always waited until the dog has gone into her second heat, but I have a 5 month old Yorkie who has Grand Champion lines, and who we plan on getting titled, who we’d like to breed, and we already have a stud lined up for her. She’ll be going into heat in December, and I’m not sure if I should breed her now, or just wait. I’m going to ask my vet’s opinion, and get her examined, etc, but thought some other opinions would be nice. Thanks!

Lauren

Thanks! See, most dogs go into heat when they are 9 months of age, and that’ll be 4 months from now, and then we’ll have to wait another 9 months until her next heat. I don’t mind waiting if it’ll be more healthy for my dog, but if it doesn’t matter it’d be nice to do it now….Thanks for your opinion though! I agree, as I’ve always waited too. I just didn’t know if anyone had had good experiences w/ 1st heat pregnancies.

Sue

Get your dog spayed. The world does not need any more back yard breeders or the sickly, poorly bred dogs they produce. If you cared at all, you would know you can’t do the health certifications until after they are two years old. Oh but then you’d loose all that money your going to make!! How silly of me. Grand Champion lines mean nothing unless your dog has shown & earned her own titles! That is not done overnite. Instead of asking how soon you can get puppies, you should be looking for a mentor so that you can learn what you are doing. Go to dog shows & meet reputable breeders & learn.

garima

I really don’t know much about breeding dogs but I pretty sure you know what you are doing. As for Sue be gon I think helping her instead of discriminating would help.

Sue