13 yr old male-drinking alot-losing weight

Home Community Older Cats 13 yr old male-drinking alot-losing weight

This topic contains 1 reply, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  oatmeal 19 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

haymoni

This is my first time posting here – I hope you have some suggestions for me. My 13 year-old ,neutered, male cat is not looking so hot lately. I can actually feel his spine when I couldn’t do that about 2 months ago. He is eating like a horse but isn’t gaining weight. He drinks a lot of water – he hardly ever drank water. He is still using his litter box (in our attached garage), but it is always soaked. If I leave him inside, he will pee on a pile of clothes, a bean bag chair, etc. Yet if he has access to his box, he never pees on a pile of clothes in the garage. If it is a kidney issue, can the vet help? What will the vet prescribe? Since he is eating non-stop, could he have worms? Can I tell? There is nothing in his stools. Should I be feeding him something other than "older cat" cat food? Should I keep him away from certain foods? Or is this just how things go with older cats? I hate the thought of my first baby living in our garage, but I don’t want to make things difficult for him. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give!

oatmeal