Is it Fair to Leave a Dog Alone All Day?

Home Community Dog Behavior Is it Fair to Leave a Dog Alone All Day?

This topic contains 916 replies, has 22 voices, and was last updated by  Max 2 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 917 total)
  • Author

Daphne
    Participant

This is a discussion topic for the Ask the Experts Q&A below. Do you think its fair to leave a dog alone all day while the family is at school/work? Do you have a dog sitter instead? Or do you have a friendly neighbor who calls in to check on him and walk him during the day?

Karen

Yes if you take the steos to ensure that the dog has someone coming in daily to walk and spend time with it when you cannot.

But then technically the dog is not home alone all day, he is having his needs met by an owner willing to do what is needed to make sure they are met.

SJ

I agree with Karen, aslong as someone is caring for the dog while you cannot then it is ok. Im a full time student, but i come home at dinner to walk my dog. If I cannot then I always have someone else do it for me.

Kellie

I guess I’m a bad "mom" haha. I wouldn’t trust a stranger to come into my home to walk my dog, I don’t have a friend/family member who can take time to walk my dog during the day and I don’t have time unfortunately on my lunch break to come home to walk my dog. He is home in his kennel for 8 hrs a day while I’m at work. I do my best, which is get up early to make sure he has food if he’s hungry. we go for a 30 min walk and we play ball in the morning before work. He’s a small dog (shih-tzu cross), he’s in a bigger kennel with room to stretch out, he has lots of toys and chew things and water. When I come home we go for another 30 min walk, he gets fed and we play periodically throughout the evening before bed. I often feel guilty for leaving him for so long but as far as I can tell he’s a happy puppy and could do a lot worse than me haha.

Megan